Hit Locations (a question for Jason & Sam)

FunGuyFromYuggoth

I first want to say that I am very happy with Jason (Durall) and Sam's (Johnson) update of the BRP rules in Edition Zero. I have been playing roleplaying games for going on 25 years now and was thrilled to see that somebody was going to try to bring it together. Excellent work! Thank you for your contribution to gaming!

I did want to query them on the rules about Hit Locations. I have been using the "Call of Cthulhu" hit location rules (first seen) in "Cthulhu Now." The spread of hit locations from 1-20 are slightly different between the version the new BRP rules and in "Call of Cthulhu." Can you tell me what the thought process was behind this decision? Thank you.

Roll D100 and let the percentiles sort them out.

Can you tell me what the thought process was behind this decision? Thank you.

The hit locations in CoC were, if I guess correctly, emphasizing firearms as the primary weapons, or larger than human creatures swinging down at humans (both favor hits to the upper body over the legs).

I chose the hit location rules from RQ, as they emphasize a spread one would achieve in hand-to-hand combat. I've since added the "missile fire" hit location chart to the edits that Charlie is now integrating into the manuscript, so you've got the best of both worlds.

The hit locations in CoC were, if I guess correctly, emphasizing firearms as the primary weapons, or larger than human creatures swinging down at humans (both favor hits to the upper body over the legs).

I chose the hit location rules from RQ, as they emphasize a spread one would achieve in hand-to-hand combat. I've since added the "missile fire" hit location chart to the edits that Charlie is now integrating into the manuscript, so you've got the best of both worlds.