Folk Magic!

Alex Greene

Just read Folk Magic in the Core Rulebook. Best implementation of the discipline I have ever seen!

I love the picture of Anathaym on p. 124. If that isn't taking pride in casting a cherished spell, I don't know what is.

I just get a warm feeling from just reading that whole section.

Edited by Alex Greene

Author of Fioracitta for Mythras and the 2d6 SFRPG setting of Castrobancla.

Folk magic is actually quite an important thing for my tastes, and I prefer to have ubiquitous magic. 

For me, Folk magic adds a similar impact to what Feats used to do in D&D (and are still essentially there in terms of Class effects). They just give an element of magic that adds colour to any character and helps make them fun to play. Big serious magics, like Sorcery and Theism all do impressive things, but folk magic allows ordinary folk who aren't spell casters by trade to do a little too. 

2 hours ago, umbraldragon said:

As a relative newcomer to RQ6/Mythras I just took Folk Magic as is.  Magic for the common folk.  Doesn't make them warriors or spellcasters per say.  And maybe you only have one or two elders who know a few FM spells, but there is a usefulness to them. 

Well... if they can cast spells, that makes them "spellcasters."  IMHO/YMMV.

But it's an interesting dial to be able to tweak:  how many Folk Magic wielders are there, and how much can they cast?  1-2 people (with 1-2 spells each) in a small town of 1000?  Or half a dozen people (with 3-5 spells each; and a few of the spells unusually potent and/or high-POW) in a hamlet of 80?

C'es ne pas un .sig