Newbie here - advice needed for solo play to start with

Hello,

I am new to this forum, 48yo/M. I used to play RPGs when I was at high school (something at that time called Black Eye) but haven't since then so we can assume I am a newbie.

I have ordered the Call of Cthulhu Classic 2" Deluxe Boxed Set a few days ago. The reason why I ordered this particular set is more as a collector item, looks like a nice package.

Ideally, I would want to practice a bit by playing solo adventures for a while. Then, I think I would be able to convince my wife to play too. But in the meantime, it will be just me.

So, I had a look at what Chaosium has to offer for adventures <here>, but it is a little bit overwhelming. I see that one adventure called "Alone Against the Static" is clearly listed as a solo adventure, so I presume this would work for my purpose ? But what else, is there some kind of book that would collect a bunch of solo adventures ?

What do you recommend ?

Thank you,

- Jean

• Like 1

Hi and welcome.

I highly recommend our Starter Set that contains the solo adventure Alone against the Flames,

Our Solo Adventures are:

For you and your wife (for 2 people, a keeper and player):

Hope that helps

• Like 4

Of the lot above, i would recommend avoiding Alone against the Dark as your first solo adventure as it is a bit more involved then the others. I haven't played Alone Against the Static Yet but the rest are quite fun... if you do not mind dying too much...

Edited by DreadDomain
  • Like 1
  • Helpful 1

Guys thanks a lot for the responses, very helpful. I've ordered the starter set and the recommended adventures. This should keep me busy for a while 😀.

I have 2 additional questions:

1) Are there YouTube channels that are recommended with CoC podcasts that I could watch while... lol... exercising at the gym ? (doesn't have to be solo games).

Here's an example of what I mean: <here>. Any obvious YouTuber that everybody knows about that I should checkout ?