Glorantha timeline query

AndrewRead

Couldn’t find the answer to this in the GtG, so here goes.

Am I correct in thinking that the world is only 1600 or so years old (depending on when one sets the campaign)?

Did the Orlanthi exist before year 0? Was there any civilisation before year 0?

I know that some current civilisations are built atop the ruins of others, but I don’t see how a civilisation could grow from barbarism, develop a civilisation of their own, collapse and then the whole cycle repeat in just 1600 years. Human civilisation on Earth took thousands of years to develop from Stone Age Hunter-gatherers. If people existed in Glorantha societies before year 0 though, then I guess that it is feasible.

I know that the Dara Happans have a calendar that extends back a long way, but I’m struggling to understand how they managed that.

Apologies if this question displays an amazing amount of ignorance but I’m relatively new to Glorantha, and have only just bought the GtG.

• Like 1

The Dara Happans number the years in the tens of thousands. Their calendar stretches back to 100,000 years before the Dawn.

Whether you believe that or not, Gloranthan "history" does stretch back to the time before Time. 

In many ways, Glorantha is a post-apocalyptic world, with the magical and wondrous civilizations of the God Time being cast down and shattered by the destruction of the Gods War.

• Like 1

Glorantha has, broadly, two sets of time, Time and GodTime.

God Time was the Time Before, Mythic Time, the Time of the Gods. This ended when the world was destroyed and remade, with the Great Compromise. The result of the Great Compromise was that the Gods and Goddesses agreed to retire to their own realms and let the other Gods and Goddesses exist, from that agreement, a new child was born, the God/Goddess of Time.