RQ3 Sorcery - what's wrong with it?

Guest Vile Traveller

Guest Vile Traveller

We've all hard many times that RQ3 sorcery is broken, and that there are some fixes out there. I have only a little experience with sorcery RAW, but we didn't come across any serious issues - it's possible we weren't playing it right, but it seemed to work okay. I've never used any of the fixes like Sandy's Sorcery (never could get into Malkionism, so it didn't make it into any of the games I played or ran). So, my question to the floor is two-fold:

1: What exactly is wrong with sorcery as written; and

2: What do the internet fixes "fix"?

Mechanically, the only serious issue we ever had was Free INT - A complete novice with say 15% in some Sorcery skills and a couple of spells can do MORE with their spells than a more experienced Sorcerer with say 55% in their skills and half a dozen spells, as the later (absent any items) has less Free INT to manipulate their spells with...

One can criticise the way the manipulations scale, and the overall utility of the system for typical adventurers but these are more flavour problems than systemic, and I found they were all (to a degree) addressed by the same fix: get rid of Free INT. Limit Manipulations by skill / 5 (for powerful Sorcery) or skill /10 for moderated sorcery. So a Palsy skill of 66% allows a total of either 14 or 7 levels of manipulation: if the casters Range skill is 24%, their Duration is 32% and their Intensity 49% they can apply up to 5 (3) levels of Range, up to 7 (4) levels of Duration and up to 10 (5) levels of Intensity - but whatever combination they choose cannot in total exceed 14 (7) levels of manipulation.

There are more extensive fixes: Dave Cake had a set I remember rating quite highly a few years back; Sandy Petersen wrote a comprehensive revision the entire RQIII magic rules that's generally very well regarded.

Cheers,

Nick