Glorantha: How to get started

Runeblogger

Hi, I have written a post that condenses the seeming consensus on forums about how to get started playing in Glorantha. It also includes my opinion.
 This will prove useful when someone who does not know anything about Glorantha asks me about how to get started. Please let me know what you think. 🙂

https://elruneblog.blogspot.com/2020/04/roleplaying-in-glorantha-how-to-get.html

How-to-get-started-Glorantha.jpg

• Like 5
  • Thanks 3

Read my Runeblog about RuneQuest and Glorantha at: http://elruneblog.blogspot.com.es/

Your "Dragon Pass" outline leaves out most of Tarsh and the Stinking Forest.

The scenarios in "The Smoking Ruins" can be fairly lethal, but the same goes for some of the encounters in the GM screen package, and my experience with The Rattling Wind is that any combat approach is a recipe for a total party kill. The Hidden Valley offers enough of a sandbox to start a campaign with locals.

When I started playing in Glorantha, I took another place adjacent to the well-developed area of Glorantha and ran a campaign in Heortland.

Nowadays, there are a number of promising series in the Jonstown Compendium community program that lend themselves for good starts. The White Ruin as part one of the Namoldin campaign gives you a start in the conflicted area between the Colymar and the Malani tribes. The Sandheart Militia saga is into its second installment, and builds on MOB's RQ3 supplement Sun County (which is sadly still out of print, as are the other RQ3 Renaissance products). For a ducker take at Glorantha, Yozarian's Bandits offer a good one-off or possibly a jump-off to a dungeons and drakes campaign, with The Quacking Dead offering some supplemental horror. The announced Six Seasons in Sartar and the Dundealos project of the Jaldonkiller Saga (both briefly covered in the current episode of Wind Words) have a similar scope.