BRP vs. MRQ & the OGL

The Tweaker

Just what the title says. I downloaded the Runequest PDF Mongoose Publishing offered as a Thanksgiving gift at drivethrustuff.com last week, but I haven't found the time to do anything more than giving it a cursory peek. I know, though, that many BRP fans did not like the changes made to the rules. My BRP experience is mostly limited to Call of Cthulhu, and I have little knowledge of the original Runequest rules, but I feel curious :):

- What are the main differences between classic and Mongoose Runequest?

- What do you like/dislike the most in both versions?

Thanks!

Happy owner of number 226 of 420

• Replies 134
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Mohahahaha!!!! BRP is much better! >:->

MRQ is d100 meets D&D, in a bad way. Only thing that's better with MRQ compared to RuneQuest is that it's in print. But Basic Roleplaying will take up the place of old RuneQuest fast enough!

Viva le BRP! :thumb:

SGL.

Ef plest master, this mighty fine grub!
b1.gif 116/420. High Priest.

Mohahahaha!!!! BRP is much better! >:->

MRQ is d100 meets D&D, in a bad way. Only thing that's better with MRQ compared to RuneQuest is that it's in print. But Basic Roleplaying will take up the place of old RuneQuest fast enough!

Viva le BRP! :thumb:

SGL.

That was not only quick, Trifletraxor, but you also made me laugh. Thanks! :thumb:

But still, I'd like to know more. What are exactly the changes you loathe the most? Why is more D&D than d100? How compatible is it? Any sourcebook worth buying? And... what was the story with Runequest playtesters?

Of course we don't have BRP yet, but here goes based on past experience with BRP based games and the info on this board:

Well since the RQ Magic systems are not in BRP we can leave those out of the discussion - but MRQ magic is a big area of difference from earlier versions.

No total HP is a big difference. MRQ only has HP per location, BRP has total HP.