'Real Life' Table/House Rules

svensson

So, as usual, another comment has segued into another topic starter.

I'm a US Army veteran, military historian, and historical reenactor and this has led me to impose certain reality-based house rules on players in every single one of my games, fantasy or sci-fi.

Here are a few of them for fantasy games like RQG:

- Encumbrance counts. We can do this one of two ways, I can make you account for every quarter-ENC and apply all sorts of fatigue and movement penalties or you can respect the load you're character is carrying, I give you some wiggle room, and you don't argue over weight /fatigue issues. Your choice.

- Don't treat your mount like a pick up truck. You can't just throw stuff on the back of your war zebra and then expect it to charge into battle like some Knight Templar. Mounts are living things and take at least as much care as you do. They need rest, proper food, good water, etc. etc. etc. And hiring a stable boy to follow you along and take care of your beasts isn't going to cover it either. War mounts bond with their rider and YOU have to train your mount to YOUR commands. You need to expect to have personal involvement in this.

- Most preserved traveling food in the age before canned goods actually didn't save you a lot of weight. Most travel foods were either dried [hard tack biscuit] or salted [salted meats]. The weight savings are made up by the need to nearly double your water consumption in order to rehydrate the food to an edible form or to digest the food without gastric consequences. You should plan on carrying a minimum of 2 quarts /liters of water with you, at roughly 4 lbs./2 kg. Where you save on such food is that your food isn't rancid and is less likely to give you food-borne illnesses.