New to BRP. Some questions about the publications...

dead

I’m new to BRP and don’t own any books yet. I’m looking to start collecting and the ones below are the first ones I’ve lined up but I had some questions:

---------------------------------------------------

- Basic Roleplaying (2nd Edition, 2008)

- Monograph #0370 - Basic Magic (2009)

- Monograph #0371 - Basic Creatures (2009)

- Monograph #0372 - Basic Gamemaster (2009)

- Basic Roleplaying (2nd Edition, 2011)

- The Magic Book (2011)

- Magic World (2012)

---------------------------------------------------

My questions:

1) Is the 2011 printing of Basic Roleplaying the same as the 2008 printing with maybe just updated errata? They are both 400-pages.

2) Is The Magic Book the same as Monograph #0370 - Basic Magic? The blurbs sound very similar but Basic Magic talks about Spirit Magic, Divine Magic, Sorcery and Ceremony. Where as, The Magic Book talks about Spirit Magic, Divine Magic, Wizardry and Ritual Magic. Did Chaosium just change the names of the last two types of magic (ie. Sorcery to Wizardry and Ceremony to Ritual Magic)?

3) The core book details Sorcery. Is the Sorcery mentioned in Basic Magic the same as the Sorcery in the core book or is it different?

4) I understand Magic World is a self-contained book based on Elric! (which I might buy anyway as I liked the old Elric!), but does it contain any new material that is not in the core rulebook?

5) Are the “complete rules for nautical adventures” in Magic World the same as the “ships and the sea” supplementary rules in Basic Gamemaster?

Thank you

1) I believe so, yes

2) The Magic Book (2011) was revised to bring its terminology more in line with the 2008 / 2011 Basic Role Playing. Historically, that material was originally published as the Magic Book in the Avalon Hill edition of RuneQuest in the 1980’s, which is where the terms Sorcery and Ceremony originate iirc.