Help learning the setting

Elleusive

A friend of mine is keen to run a game set in and around Pavis, however I am new to the system/setting (more of a Call of Cthulhu player) and am finding it hard getting my head around the nuances of the setting and world, which is clearly deeply rich. So far the best resource I've found to introduce and portray the world is the incomplete http://www.princeofsartar.com/

Wondering if anyone could help suggest other introductory resources?

• Like 1

1 hour ago, Elleusive said:

For Pavis and Prax, I'd suggest reading through a couple of the HeroQuest Voices articles which you can find for download here: HeroQuest Voices

Particularly the Praxian one in this link (a download zip file): https://wellofdaliath.chaosium.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/06/hqvoices-v2.zip

If I recall correctly, the Bison Riders/Praxian story comes first and gives a good intro to what Prax and the Wastes (in which Pavis sits) are about.

The Orlanth story is also useful as many settlers in the city of Pavis and nearby lands are of Orlanthi origin.

• Like 2

2 hours ago, Elleusive said:

A friend of mine is keen to run a game set in and around Pavis, however I am new to the system/setting (more of a Call of Cthulhu player) and am finding it hard getting my head around the nuances of the setting and world, which is clearly deeply rich. So far the best resource I've found to introduce and portray the world is the incomplete http://www.princeofsartar.com/

One of the most important things is - don't try to learn everything at once.   How much did a bronze age person in what is now Spain know about bronze Age Mesopotamia? Likely, not much.  Find out a little bit about the possible backgrounds for characters for where the campaign is set. For Pavis that would likely be Praxians and Orlanthi. Pick which one you'd like your character to be, then find out more about that background.  Then find out more during the game.