Orlanthi Hospitality Questions

Sub

Hi everyone. I'm relatively new to Glorantha, and I have a lot of questions about particulars of the setting. I'm currently running the HQ Colymar Campaign in 1618. Please let me know if there is a better place or better format for threads like these, and if there are certain tags I should use. The first three questions apply more to Sartar than anything else.

• If I'm a Sartarite from the Woodpecker clan, and I'm traveling to Jonstown on the trade road, does it make sense to seek out hospitality from every clan whose territory I'm passing through, or are trade roads exempt from this custom?
  • Can hospitality be granted by farmers and herders, or only warriors, or does the chief get involved every time, even for travel?
  • Does the hospitality rite compel you to tell the truth? Is there a safe way to reject hospitality, or to reject greater levels of hospitality than desired? If I only want water and safe passage, for example. If Argrath offers me duty and I want none of that, as another example.
  • How does the hospitality rite vary among Sartarite clans, Orlanthi cultures, or in your Glorantha?
Edited by Sub
removing newbie tag
  • Like 3
  • Thanks 2

2 hours ago, Sub said:

If I'm a Sartarite from the Woodpecker clan, and I'm traveling to Jonstown on the trade road, does it make sense to seek out hospitality from every clan whose territory I'm passing through, or are trade roads exempt from this custom?

You can, or you may just follow the greetings if you encounter a patrol from that clan.

2 hours ago, Sub said:

Can hospitality be granted by farmers and herders, or only warriors, or does the chief get involved every time, even for travel?

Yes, it could (at least I would play that way). And it makes a good source of conflict/discussion if the farmer does grant it and the chief is upset about it.

2 hours ago, Sub said:

Does the hospitality rite compel you to tell the truth?