cults'n'stuff

jezreel

I'm new to Mythras having last been into RPG in the form of Runequest 1 (a few years ago...)

I'm excited to get back in as gamesmaster but I feel I need a little more inspiration and guidance  re cults and brotherhoods- the examples given in the core rulebook are few -  

I've found the wonderful random Mythras encounter generator to help with denizens and NPC but can anyone point me to a web-page or publication which can flesh out the wonderful weird world of cults?

And what happened re Runes? Are they out now once the Runequest licence expired? 

many thanks

9 minutes ago, jezreel said:

I'm new to Mythras having last been into RPG in the form of Runequest 1 (a few years ago...)

I'm excited to get back in as gamesmaster but I feel I need a little more inspiration and guidance  re cults and brotherhoods- the examples given in the core rulebook are few -  

I've found the wonderful random Mythras encounter generator to help with denizens and NPC but can anyone point me to a web-page or publication which can flesh out the wonderful weird world of cults?

The vast majority of cults that I am aware of has been written for Glorantha, and a lot can be lifted from what has been published for these for other settings.

Cults and deities are always specific to a setting. One setting's death deities may be very different from other death deities, whether within the same setting but belonging to a different pantheon or culture, or whether from a death deity with a different history/myth in the other setting. The same for sun, storm mountain, lightning, earth... deities.

9 minutes ago, jezreel said:

And what happened re Runes? Are they out now once the Runequest licence expired? 

Your games don't need to care about any licensing, unless you mean to use only officially supported material. From your mention of Hannu's encounter generator, this doesn't seem to be the case, though.