sigh: I LOVE "zero to hero", does that mean RQG isn't for me?

thom

I started playing RuneQuest in 1979 and through the 80s, so that probably explains why I feel this way. I remember reading one of the authors saying he hated the whole concept of "zero to hero", which is why they developed RQG the way they did. Which is why I''m wondering if it's worth it for me to try and run the new system, vs. modifying RQ classic with some of the new ideas. Has anyone else had this dilemma? If so, how did you work through it?

thom

It's actually pretty easy to make the character-generation produce zero-ish PC's more like RQ2/RQClassic ones.

You will also want to look at Rune Magic... Rune Pool of 1 at the start?  Or even ... NO beginning points?

C'es ne pas un .sig

I'm new to RuneQuest but the combat in RQG is deadly that even as newer characters it isn't like they are very vulnerable and I have a feeling that as characters gain experience combat will remain deadly. To me the zero to hero means that players don't start out as too invincible and they don't in RQG. I'm not sure if I answered your question.

• Like 1

Start the characters younger with less occupational experience and less rune points and they will be on the level of starting RQ2 characters. They will also die more often. The premise of RQG appears to be well-trained and outfitted PCs that are on detail/on call from local clans, temples and or tribes for serious adventuring. The RQ2 would be more along the lines of accidental heroes.

PS. If my game gets together (I am very busy with gaming writing, which means, sigh... less time for gaming) I'll probably start characters as kids. Then jump forward in time...

• Like 1

1 hour ago, thom said: