Playing More Experienced Characters

Mr_Douglass

Disclaimer: I am new to RuneQuest...

I've been looking for material on creating characters that are more experienced that the Core Rules generate.  Metaphorically, starting at 5th level instead of 1st. 

Please Note:

• I am fully aware RuneQuest doesn't have levels - it's a metaphor.

Edited (2024-09-02):

• Someone very helpfully pointed out a grammatical error I made, so I have corrected it.
Edited by Mr_Douglass
Someone very helpfully pointed out a grammatical error I made, so I have corrected it.
  • Like 3

There is an approach in the core rule book (p 81) for generating more experienced characters. I find that to be very, very stingy.

I apply the seasonal experience rules (4 exp checks for professional a cult skills) plus a random number of rune and passion and POW gain checks per year. Done with VBA to calculate instantly. 

I did also work out a cost-based approach using 20 XP points per year (representing 4 exp checks in 5 seasons). Gaining 3% cost different XPs depending on skill score. Eg 50% cost 2XP as on average will only succeed in 1 out 2 exp rolls.

Depends how generous and simple you want it. Maybe just a flat % to dole out; setting a max of say +10% on one skill per year ( there'll be multiple views on what that cap ought to be, especially at the high end 80+, an easy way would be 100-current skill divided by 5 as a cap). Lots of ways to model that: some simplistic and easy, some better representations of experience rules and some better simulations).

This assumes they're not considered to be adventuring during this extra time. If you want seasoned "adventurers" then I'd give them a few more experiences checks per season.