Rules Problem -- Zombies and Close Combat

Scelous

I'm new to BRP, but I'm looking at using the system for a zombie post-apocalypse game. I'm excited about the prospect, but I've encountered one part of the rules that really confuses and frustrates me.

"Close Combat," Page 219 of the BRP book:

A short weapon-user being kept at bay may have to make a successful Dodge or parry roll to get into close combat with a long-weapon-user. If the attempt succeeds, he or she slips past the guard of the long weaponuser and is able to attack normally. If the Dodge or parry attempt fails, the short weapon-user is kept away from close combat for the remainder of the combat round and cannot attack.

"Zombie," Page 351 of the book:

Zombies never attempt to Dodge or Parry.

And mind you, pg. 219 says, "If the long-weapon-user wishes, he or she can keep one or more short weapon-users at bay."

So I'm envisioning the victory to zombie survival is walking out with a pole into a mob of 100 zombies and just spinning it around and suddenly you're a walking god.

Thoughts from people more familiar with BRP than me?

I'm of the school that zombies are slow and dumb. (Maybe a leader type here and there that are faster)

So killing zombies should be relatively easy. However, swarm tactics would prevail.

Why not have a penalty that accrues for every zombie the character is engaged with?

Or simply ignore the "or more" part and only allow one?

BGB = BRP Gold. New book = BRP Platinum.  Stay metal. 

Two points:

First off there probably should be a limit to how many people someone can keep at bay with a long weapon. While I can see someone fending off one, two, four, or even six opponents this way, I can see them fending off 10, 20, 40 or 60! What's the multiple attack penalty for ripostes these days -20%, or -30%? I'd probably let someone fend off one opponent per multiple of that.