Jump to content
Scout

New to RuneQuest-Glorantha

Recommended Posts

1 hour ago, Scout said:

I'm not sure that is what they mean because they are instructing you to find the percentage of the failure range. At least that's what I think.

That's what they're doing, yes. The percent chance of a fumble in your example is 4%, which four chances in your d100 roll are 00, 99, 98, 97. So if you roll 97 or more you've fumbled, which is what the table says.

Personally, I just round all numbers mathematically. Which is actually what the table does (ignoring page 7 which is a stupid and inconsistent rule, IMO). 5% of 81 is 4.05, which is greater than 4, so if you "always round in favour", the chance of a crit should be 5% at 81. It actually changes at 90%, when the chance, unrounded would be 4.5%, which means they have rounded mathematically. If you always round in favour of the players, monsters' chances of crits and specials will be lower than players' for the same chance to hit, and the reverse applies for chances to fumble. It's just nonsense.

  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 minutes ago, Scout said:

Thanks womble.

When you say rounding mathematically, what does that mean exactly, to the nearest whole number or up, down?

Any decimal that is 0.5 or higher, round up, if it is below 0.5 then round down.

So, 20.5 rounds up to 21 and 20.49 rounds down to 20.

  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, Scout said:

I'm not sure that is what they mean because they are instructing you to find the percentage of the failure range. At least that's what I think.

But the fact remains that 96-00 is 5%, not the 4% that you calculated that it should be.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 minutes ago, soltakss said:

Any decimal that is 0.5 or higher, round up, if it is below 0.5 then round down.

So, 20.5 rounds up to 21 and 20.49 rounds down to 20.

That's what I thought

Thanks for clarifying

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
13 hours ago, Atgxtg said:

Well, the Book of Sires is supposed to do something similar with Pendragon. I think something along those lines could work for Glorantha-at least for a particular region, say Dragon Pass, and for a certain number of years, maybe a century or two. In some ways it could be easier in Glorantha, because the calender and date for given events more firmly established, and there is less contraction among the sources. 

It would be a project though. And even if someone did start earlier, there'd be little support material to help them. All the older RQ stuff only goes back about a decade in Gloranthan time. So if a GM pushes the clock back by 20 years, he won't have much to help him work up adventures. 

I suspect, reading your posts, you haven't had a chance to look at RuneQuest Glorantha yet. 

If this is the case, you should know that the core book provides a timeline for grandparents and parents that begins with the birth of the grandparents in 1561.(The default beginning of a campaign in the book is 1625.)

So the Family History Timeline (similar to the one found in King Arthur Pendragon) already stretches back few decades. I am only asking for a few decades more. That is, far enough back that one could ramp up into play to the earlier years found in various Gloranthan products (to 1613 or so; Apple Lane, The Sartar is Rising Campaign). This only requires another decade or two of additional material.

Your post suggests two things:

  1. Going back a century "or two." That seems an extraordinary project, and not one I would advocate. Again, in my post I suggested going back a few decades. Maybe only one or two. I have no idea how or why you expanded the notion so greatly. Such a thought could only discourage anyone from thinking about this notion at all.
  2. There is little support material. I find this a strange comment. Going back a few decades one finds a great wealth of material for the history of a Sartar campaign history scattered across many, many publications. Some extrapolation for finer events and details might be required. But it can be done.

As for myself, I'm really much more curious about going back to the collapse of Heortling resistance at the Battle of Grizzly Peak. I'd really like to explore time with a Sartar tribe that knows trouble has closed in, but hasn't yet arrived. What do they do? Attack? Build up defenses? Go on with their lives with the hopes the Lunars will stop. It would mean adding Family History material going back to 1520. Which is still only four decades more than already included in RQG. But that's my own obsession.

All in all, what I am suggesting is much simpler than what you are proposing, both in terms of scope and information available.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm reading all this background here and thinking .... what? This setting really is something else!

If anyone figures out how to fudge the numbers so my group and I can experience Apple Lane (and Snake Pipe Hollow), please post it up. We've never had a look at Glorantha and I am very excited to GM it. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 minutes ago, Scout said:

If anyone figures out how to fudge the numbers so my group and I can experience Apple Lane (and Snake Pipe Hollow), please post it up. We've never had a look at Glorantha and I am very excited to GM it. 

You can run RQ2 Apple Lane and Snake Pipe Hollow pretty much as they are with RQG. 

When people say that they can't be updated, what they mean is that RQG is set several years in their future and things have changed. The scenarios should work OK, though.

  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
18 minutes ago, soltakss said:

You can run RQ2 Apple Lane and Snake Pipe Hollow pretty much as they are with RQG. 

When people say that they can't be updated, what they mean is that RQG is set several years in their future and things have changed. The scenarios should work OK, though.

Ok thanks for clarifying

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you want to play in the default RQG setting, the 'Apple Lane 1625' information, with changes of personnel, a potted history of recent events, a nice iso drawing and some local maps are published with 'modern' production values in the Gamemaster Screen Pack.

The major elements that will be missing from RQ2 and 3-era material are Rune affiliations (needed for the characters to cast Rune Spells - you have to roll under a relevant Rune score to cast a Rune Spell), Passions, and the reusable Rune Magic of Initiates. In earlier versions, Initiates only got one casting of a Rune Spell per sacrifice for it, so it wasn't uncommon to come across Initiates with no Rune Spells, or only one or two, in case of emergencies. Now every Initiate under RQG rules will have at least one Rune Point and access to the Common Spells and one of the Special spells available to their Cult. There's the chance they might already have some unreplenished Points, naturally, but having all your antagonists 'running on empty' will ring a bit false after a while...

The Appendix in the core rules deals with how you can approach modifying the stats between editions. It's pretty straightforward.

 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Page 148: Example (2nd column):

Harmast has 4 hit points in the head and a total of 10 hit points. He takes 10 points of damage in a single blow. His armor protection (1 point) is subtracted, meaning he has suffered 9 points of damage in the head. He takes 9 points of damage to the head, which is more than twice his total for the head hit location, but less than three times. It knocks him out. Harmast is now unconscious, with 2 total hit points remaining and will lose 1 hit points each melee round until First Aid or healing magic is applied"

Seeing as the Head can take more than twice its hit points in damage and Harmast took 10 which is reduced by 1 due to armor, shouldn't Harmast be left with 1 total hit points, not 2?

The rules make a point of calling out a 'Limb' can't take more than twice its hit point in damage - so I assume the head can.

Edited by Scout

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Page 149: Example (2nd column second example)

"Her skill in First Aid is 20%. Sorala gets a 4 on the first injury, a special success! Rather than the normal 1D3 for a success, Sorala heals 1D3+3 hit points"

Special success heals 2d3, not 1d3+3 (that's a critical success)

 

Edited by Scout

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
44 minutes ago, Scout said:

Page 148: Example (2nd column):

Harmast has 4 hit points in the head and a total of 10 hit points. He takes 10 points of damage in a single blow. His armor protection (1 point) is subtracted, meaning he has suffered 9 points of damage in the head. He takes 9 points of damage to the head, which is more than twice his total for the head hit location, but less than three times. It knocks him out. Harmast is now unconscious, with 2 total hit points remaining and will lose 1 hit points each melee round until First Aid or healing magic is applied"

Seeing as the Head can take more than twice its hit points in damage and Harmast took 10 which is reduced by 1 due to armor, shouldn't Harmast be left with 1 total hit points, not 2?

The rules make a point of calling out a 'Limb' can't take more than twice its hit point in damage - so I assume the head can.

IIRC, the head is a limb. That's why Harmast can't take more than 8 points in 1 hit (twice his original head hit points), and that's why he ends with 2 points.

Kloster

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 minutes ago, Kloster said:

IIRC, the head is a limb. That's why Harmast can't take more than 8 points in 1 hit (twice his original head hit points), and that's why he ends with 2 points.

Kloster

Not sure if the Head is called a limb anywhere else in the core rulebook, but on page 148 it says...

"Limb: An adventurer cannot take more than twice the possible points of damage in an arm or leg from a single blow"

Edited by Scout

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 minutes ago, Scout said:

Not sure if the Head is called a limb (that sounds really odd) anywhere else, but on page 148 it says...

"Limb: An adventurer cannot take more than twice the possible points of damage in an arm or leg from a single blow"

I've just checked ... and I was wrong. Limbs are arms and legs. Head, chest and abdomen are a different rule and you were right, Harmast should have 1 remaining hit points.

Edited by Kloster

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
10 minutes ago, Scout said:

Page 149: Example (2nd column second example)

"Her skill in First Aid is 20%. Sorala gets a 4 on the first injury, a special success! Rather than the normal 1D3 for a success, Sorala heals 1D3+3 hit points"

Special success heals 2d3, not 1d3+3 (that's a critical success)

 

P149, Specials AND Criticals are 1D3+3.

Kloster

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 minutes ago, Kloster said:

P149, Specials AND Criticals are 1D3+3.

Kloster

 

Page 149: "A special success heals 2D3 damage; a critical heals 1D3+3"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Page 152: In Sight (end of paragraph)

"The gamemaster may choose to change the time scale from melee rounds to"

The sentence seems incomplete. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is NOT the thread to raise rules questions or bring up possible errors. There's an entire thread dedicated to that which Jason regularly replies to. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Can we expect the Drivethru pdf to be updated with the latest errata soon? I just downloaded it and it still has some errors in it that have been corrected in the (I assume) Chaosium pdf offering. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
16 hours ago, Kloster said:

I've just checked ... and I was wrong. Limbs are arms and legs. Head, chest and abdomen are a different rule and you were right, Harmast should have 1 remaining hit points.

Not much of a comfort when he has had his head chopped off, though.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
8 minutes ago, soltakss said:

Not much of a comfort when he has had his head chopped off, though.

Not quite 'off'... that'd take another 3 points of damage, and he'd be dead from total HP as well as a severed or maimed 'Head'.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 12/29/2018 at 8:54 AM, Scout said:

I'm reading all this background here and thinking .... what? This setting really is something else!

If anyone figures out how to fudge the numbers so my group and I can experience Apple Lane (and Snake Pipe Hollow), please post it up. We've never had a look at Glorantha and I am very excited to GM it. 

Ask and ye shall receive!  Since you are looking to start back in 1613, you're adding 12 years to the Family Timeline.  Characters that are born in 1604 with RQG are now being born in 1592.  Your grandparents were born in 1549.  Though your parents would be born in 1570, we're gonna fudge it ahead one year earlier.  Your parents careers start in 1597, fudging that back two years.

Year1549 Events:  Your grandparents were born this year.

Year 1569 Events:  Homelands All.  Prince Tarkalor crowned King of Dragon Pass and the Prince of Sartar.   Your parents were born this year.

Modifiers:  Lunar Tarsh -8. Old Tarsh -5.  Prax -8

1-10:  Nothing happens.  11-12:  Dies of Random Causes.  13-20:  Witness crowning of Tarkalor.  Gain Loyalty (Sartar).

Year 1582 Events:  Straight out of RQG

Year 1592 Events:  You are born.

Year 1597 Events:  Your grandparents career now ends.  Your parents career begins this year.  Other than that, this is straight out of RQG. 

All Events from 1602 to 1608: Identical to RQG except they happened to your parent(s).

Year 1610 through Year 1613 Events:  Your career starts now.  Your parents retire.  All references to "died" are replaced by "nearly died".  If you fight in any battles, give yourself +5% Battle for merely surviving, +10% Battle if you converted "killed at the Battle of..." or "died with great glory" to "damn! that was close!" (in addition to the other 'rewards'.)  Oh, and toss in a scar.  (gnarly scar if you used to play Stormbringer)

 

And there ya go!  Easy peasy.

Edited by Pentallion
  • Like 1
  • Thanks 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×