Opposed skill rolls

tooley1chris

Hey, I'm a noob to BRP but already a big fan of the system.

I haven't played it yet but am planning on GMing soon as the others in my group are just players...

Anyway I have a question about opposing skill rolls.

In the golden book there is an example of a character using hide verses another using spot. It reads that the hiding character rolls a success and the spotter rolls a special success. That the hiders success reduces the spotters special success to a normal success even though the spotter rolled a better success rate.

Is this an error? Seems to me the special success should reduce the hiders success to a fail...

I would love some examples of why this is the case, if you please?

I'm pulling my hair trying to figure it all out.

Thanks in advance!

Author QUASAR space opera system: https://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/459723/QUASAR?affiliate_id=810507

My Magic World projects page: Tooleys Underwhelming Projects

• Replies 65
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Is it 2013 already? Time for the yearly debate;)

The mechanics for opposed rolls are a bit on the clunky side.

This is what the above says:

the hider succeeds with a normal success( 1 level of success ), the spotter rolls a special success(effectively 2 levels of success). As the spotter rolled a better level of success, he wins the opposed roll.

However, he can't reap the benefits of that special result, as the hider's success reduces his result by one grade.

Urgh.. I don't know if that made any kind of sense...

I recommend just using the blackjack-method. It's quickest and easiest, at least for me.

the hider succeeds with a normal success( 1 level of success ), the spotter rolls a special success(effectively 2 levels of success). As the spotter rolled a better level of success, he wins the opposed roll.

However, he can't reap the benefits of that special result, as the hider's success reduces his result by one grade.