How to Get the Younguns

soltakss

As far as how to get young gamers into the game, that is worth it's own thread.

I was young when I started playing RuneQuest way back when. Someone on our block of residence floor said he played a game that sounded interesting and I was hooked. So, I haven't got a clue how to attract younguns.

A tube of smarties with every purchase?

Simon Phipp - Caldmore Chameleon - Wallowing in my elitism since 1982. Many Systems, One Family. Just a fanboy. 

www.soltakss.com/index.html

Jonstown Compendium author. Find my contributions here

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

In my case, I was dissatisfied with AD&D and RQ was the alternative FRPG at the time. Now, it is not so cut & dried.

I think we'd need to get their attention. Back in the old days, it was one of a handful of non D&D RPGS on the shelf. Now it would have to fight with other RPGs to get noticed.

A BRP-Lite and some free adventures, maybe even a SoloQuest or two could help. A soloQuest PDF would give potential GM's a taste, and it is GMs who we need to get. Generally if someone is willing to run, players will be willing to try it.

If we could get 4 or 5 contributors and turn it into a nice and free PDF and have one of the semi-professional people put it up as free DL at someplace like DriveThru and/or RPG Now then the game would get some exposure.

Chaos stalks my world, but she's a big girl and can take of herself.

A couple of things in addition to what Atgxtg suggested come to mind, all probably pretty obvious.

Being friendly, approachable and visible on various on-line forums (as in RL of course...).

Running games at conventions and on-line.

We've mentioned it a few times and I agree with Atgxtg that a BRP Lite is likely to be very useful, especially for on-line games.