Humakti and Zorak Zorani in the same group?

ve4grm

(Technically this game is 13G, but all of the questions are from a flavour standpoint, not mechanical, so I figured I'd post in the more active forum.)

So we're starting a Glorantha campaign. I have little knowledge of the setting, but have been reading a lot. I chose to play a Humakti (Sword of Humakt) and another player was looking at a Zorak Zorani character.

Obviously there's the fact that the gods themselves aren't fans of each other, and there will be conflicts in the way we fight and/or treat the dead. Gore and massacre, vs honour and respect, etc. That's fine. We can roleplay around that, and still work together for a greater cause.

But the undead thing is giving me trouble. ZZ characters can summon undead, even to the point of having a constant undead companion. Is there any legitimate way that a Humakti would excuse that and not want to murder the ZZ?

(Secondary question - the ZZ character might actually use the ZZ class mechanics, but be more closely associated with Zolan Zubar (so many Zs...) who seems to not really like undead either? I can't find much about Zolan Zubar. Any insight into the god would be useful.)

• Like 2

I’d say a ZZ and a Humakti could be forced to work together in the right circumstances. Same patron, same clan, or same war band. Or if they’re facing some existential threat together (Chaos, the Lunars, etc). There’s lots of great fiction where philosophically opposes characters who otherwise might murder each other come together for the common good. 

“Normally I would kill you and decorate my armor with your entrails, but today, Sword, the fates smile on you. And we will fight for the same cause.”

“Today I swear by Humakt to fight by your side, savage. Tomorrow, if Death does not take us, we will discuss this matter again.”

• Like 3