How to teach Glorantha?

wlewisiii

First post here, yada yada. I've been playing RuneQuest since a fellow GI pulled out a copy of RQ2 & Apple Lane in 1983. Been following it mostly since though I dropped away for various reasons that aren't really relevant during the HQ/HW era. 

Recently I found the new Classic Edition and the Quick Start for the new versions. So I dug out what had survived the decades on my bookshelves (still can't find my paperback of Moon Design's Pavis&Big Rubble. I must have sold it in a fit of idiocy. At least there are PDFs available) and am reading King Of Sartar. 

Ok, that's fine for me. I've been a philosophy student my whole life and have been known to pick up a volume of Ludwig Wittgenstein as light reading. 

OTOH, there is my 15 year old son who plays D&D5 and Mongoose Traveller and is now curious about RQ. 

It was really quite simple to get him into those games. The systems are not that difficult (accepting that the D&D abstractions are silly, they aren't hard to play) and even The Third Imperium setting of Traveller with 40 years of backstory isn't that hard to get into because in the end it's modern USA/Britain with noble titles and no FLT communications. 

But Glorantha! Do I do the old classic thing and dump him into Apple Lane or New Pavis and just expect him to absorb it on the fly? He'll learn fast enough that combat in RQ is more like Traveller (fast & deadly to everyone) than D&D (only deadly for mooks) but the basic cults and everything else just really is only hinted at in the RQ book. 

The biggest problem we have is that, at least at present, there is only the two of us. If I had a couple of more players, I'd be sore tempted to use Stephan Marsh's "Regular Folks" campaign that I've wanted to run since I printed it out years and years ago.