How do you efficiently teach the game to one-shot groups?

klecser

My Call of Cthulhu group has been seeing my videos for "How To Build A Runequest Character" and they naturally want in, at least for a one-shot to try it. :) I would likely run Defending Apple Lane and use the Pre-Gens.

My players are open-minded, but their experience is rooted almost exclusively in DND and Call of Cthulhu. Given the rarity of combat in our CoC campaign and the differences between this game and DND, I anticipate a steep learning curve for them. I will have a learning curve as well, as this will be my first time running RQ. Yet, I have 20+ years as a GM under my belt and I know how to anticipate a lot of the general challenges. I'm also a teacher by profession, so helping people understand and choosing the best questions comes naturally to me.

I'm expecting that we are going to actually do this in a minimum of two sessions: One to learn the rules basics and one to start play. I know that really doesn't happen for FLGS-based one shots, so I'm curious as to how you all teach the Basics as efficiently as possible.

My biggest fear right now is attempting to explain the three tiers of the Magic system and players having a character that they feel is ineffective because  of this. Some of the slipcase characters seem fairly complex to my untrained eye and specialize in calling Spirits and casting magic and I'm not sure how to "pitch" that to whoever plays one. Combat will obviously be a huge part of DAL. Another challenge is that we will only have one rulebook, so I anticipate printing full spell text from the PDF for players to use (for personal use only! :) )

How do you teach Runequest efficiently to one-shot groups? Which pre-gens are the obvious choices for new players? Do you feel like a "pre" session is unnecessary with specific in-session choices to support understanding?

As always, thanks in advance.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

1 hour ago, klecser said: